Filming surfing with a drone!

Putting cameras in a place of risk is often the only way to get a shot that will stand out from the flood of other media out there. And I personally would rather break a piece of equipment to get a great shot, than keep it safe in a box and come home with nothing.

 

Some months ago I brought a drone to start hopefully filming more climbing videos when I recover from my ankle injury. Most of my time since then has been spent only flying it round parks to practise the skills of flying and controlling the camera. With my earlier words in mind I decided I wanted to start practising getting great shots with it. So we headed down to East Witterings on a sunny evening to shoot some landscape/surf videos…. The surf was flat! So tony chucked on his wetsuit and went for a play anyway and I decided to try and get some shots of the sunset. It took me a while to man up and take off as the wind was howling down the beach an made the first few metres of flight pretty tricky. But the resulting video above hopefully shows it wasn’t a fully wasted evening! Please let me know what you guys think.

__________________________________________________________

This was all shot on a DJI Phantom 2 with a gopro hero 4 attached. The gopro being a new acquisition after scratching the lens of my old hero 3+… doh!

The new gopro sitting on the bottom of the drone.

 

Till next time,

Steve

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

