My goals for 2017

Our goals can only be reached through a vehicle of a plan, in which we must fervently believe, and upon which we must vigorously act. There is no other route to success.” ~ Pablo Picasso. 

 

Last year was great. I recovered from injury, Met lots of great people and had some fun adventures. But I want this year to be even better! I want to be able to look back on this year with the feeling of achievement and success. Im sure if I just carry on like normal I’ll have some successes and probably go on great adventures but If I really want to achieve somthing then Im going to have to set myself some goals. Making these goals publicly known is a great way of adding motivation for success, or maybe an added fear of failure. So what follows is a short list of five things that I want to do this year! And I’m going to give it my all to make them happen!

1. Go on a grand adventure

For something to be a real adventure there has to be the possibility of failure, The knowledge that things will not go to plan, and the possibility of it being really hard work! With all this in mind I am setting my sights on cycling the length of the UK, self supported. The famous Lands end to John O’Groats route has been cycled many times, including some staggeringly quick record times. I won’t be breaking any records and I won’t be covering any new ground but I hope to find adventure along the way! To keep in theme with the spirit of adventure, any planning for this trip is going out of the window. I will simple make sure I have a bike, a tent and enough time off work to cycle the 1000 or so miles from south to north 🙂

14
Short rides around town may not be enough training for this…

2. Climb 7a

Harriet climbs Lost decade, My first 7a boulder problem.

7a isn’t a new grade boundary for me, having climbed at this grade on sport and boulder problems across the country. It is however a completely different experience having been out of climbing with my injury and having not climbed or trained much in the past year. My goal is to get back to be as comfortable and as strong as I used to be climbing, and to repeat some old routes, and maybe even try a few new projects.

3. Run 10km

Much like with climbing my running has faced a big decline since injury, obviously not being able to walk for 6 months has some side effects. But as my mileage starts building up I am more and more sure that ill get back to running longer distances given time and careful training. By the end of this year my goal is too be able to comfortably run a 10km race, preferably off road and injury free. At the moment I’ve worked up to 2 mile slow jogs on the pavements near my home so I’ve got a little way to go!

11224350_10200530993594185_27002635827609127_o
The finish line of my first marathon! A goal for the future maybe!

4. Create more!

I have been through stages of varied motivation to write things on this blog now that life is getting bit more busy. But this year I want to spend more time on creating good content, wether that be posts on this blog, photographs or hopefully some more videos to go on youtube. I want to be able to look back at a years worth of fun memories and epic adventures!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
“Searching for inspiration”

5. Finish my 365 project

For anyone that has spent anytime on Instagram then this is not going to be something revolutionary. The idea of the project is quite simple really, you take and upload one picture everyday for an entire year, leaving you with 365 snapshots of your adventures, your daily routine and anything else that you find inspiration in. I am only a few days into the project and already realising that it is going to be creatively challenging to keep having interesting ideas, when some of these short winter days are spent at work then relaxing at home. It is going to force me to find interesting subjects in everyday life and to try to keep my ideas original for 365 photos, And I quite like the sound of that.

Leave a Reply

